The layers of information can be created in many different ways. One is converting paper maps into a digital form. This can be helpful, but the layers are typically not accurate. Another, more accurate way, is the use of a Global Positioning System, or GPS. A GPS uses satellites to compute location on the ground. The use of aerial photography is a popular way to create multiple layers of data for use in the GIS.
Geographical Information Systems, or GIS, are a combination of computer hardware, software, and data. This data is location-based. The purpose of a GIS is to overlay many "layers" of information so they can be viewed all at once. Behind each map layer on the computer is data about what you see on the computer screen. For example, you can view streets, zoning, and subdivisions all at once to get a feel of the zoning in certain neighborhoods or at a certain address.
Existing Map Printing
8.5" x 11".....$3.00 per page (example: City Limit Map)
11" x 17"......$5.00 per page (example: Ward Map)
22" x 34"......$7.00 per page (example: Subdivision Map)
34" x 44"......$10.00 per page (example: Zoning/Subdivision Map)
Custom Map Printing (requires additional setup)
8.5" x 11".....$20.00 per page
17" x 22"......$25.00 per page
22" x 34"......$30.00 per page
34" x 44"......$35.00 per page
Complete City Zoning Map book.........$25.00 each
Complete City Subdivision Map Book....$50.00 each
Complete City Sewer System Map Book...$75.00 each
**Other maps may be a combination of the above prices, depending on request and production time.
A GIS can aide the City staff in locating and analyzing information about a specific problem more quickly than traditional methods. This results in a more efficient response for the citizens of Hope. By keeping records and information in a computer, the amount of space taken up by paper documents is reduced. Also, time spent locating and dragging out paper documents is shortened.
To provide an anonymous tip, use our Call Alert Hotline number 870-722-2552. The Hotline number is an automated answering machine. Please leave a detailed specific message including names, addresses, license numbers, dates, times, and the illegal activity suspected.
If you would like to commend an Officer or Employee for his/her job performance, please write your comments to the Chief of Police, PO Box 1346, Hope, Arkansas 71802, or call 870-777-3434. Your comments will be added to the Employee's personnel file.
In some cases it is possible to keep driving offenses off of one's driving record through taking a Defensive Driving class. There is a fee for the class. For more information concerning this program contact the District Court Clerk's Office at 870-777-2525.
For answers to these questions you may contact Driver Control of the Arkansas State Police at 870-773-7826.
Incident reports that are not part of ongoing investigations are available for public inspection. Certain information protected by privacy laws will be redacted prior to review. Copies of incident reports, open to the public, may be obtained for $10.00 per report.
If you desire to obtain a report open to the public you may do so via a mail in request. When making a request via mail, be sure to enclose $10.00, a self-addressed stamped envelope or 800 fax number, and provide all necessary information to locate the report you desire (i.e. date, time, location, names, etc.). Also, provide a contact phone number so we may call if we have difficulty locating the report you desire.
Eligible reports may be reviewed or purchased at the Bond and Fine window located at the Hope Police Department facility, 400 S Washington, Hope, Arkansas, 71801, telephone 870-777-3434, facsimile 870-777-2374.
You may pay your fines for citations issued by the City of Hope at the Hope Police Department Bond and Fine window Monday - Friday (excluding holidays) between the hours of 8 a.m.-11 a.m. and 12 Noon - 5 p.m.. The Hope Police Department is located in the Hempstead County Law Enforcement Center at 400 S. Washington Hope, Arkansas, telephone 870-777-3434, ext 2. Payment may be made in cash, check, or money order.
The Hope Police Department will receive payment via mail. You must ensure that your name, date of birth, and social security number are placed on your payment for the clerk to credit the proper account. If you pay by mail and would like a receipt returned to you evidencing the payment, you must enclose a self addressed stamped envelope for the return receipt.
The Hope Police Department strives to provide a courteous service. However, from time to time it is inevitable that complaints and misunderstandings arise. If you have a complaint we urge you to speak with an on duty supervisor regarding your complaint. If the complaint cannot be resolved at this level you may request and complete a complaint tracking form. This form may be obtained at the Hope Police Department Call Center Window. After completing the form, provide it to the Call Center employee and the complaint will be forwarded to the Chief of Police. The Chief of Police reviews every written complaint. You will receive written notice that your complaint was received and the disposition of your complaint.
If you desire to withdraw a complaint of which you are the complainant, you may speak with a detective concerning the matter. However, the State may choose to prosecute the case matter at the prosecutor's discretion.
If you know there is a warrant for your arrest, the best thing to do is simply turn yourself in to the Police Department. In many cases warrants can be served, new court dates set, and you be allowed to return home pending the court date. In other cases you may be processed into jail, receive an initial appearance before a judge, a bond will be set, a court date established, and if you can meet the bond you will be released pending your trial.
If you fail to make the Court ordered payments, a warrant would be issued for your arrest. If found guilty of Failure to Comply with the judge's order, additional fines and fees would be imposed by the Court.
If you are issued a citation, an Officer believes that you have committed a violation or misdemeanor offense. The issuance of the citation does not mean in fact that you are guilty of the offense. When the citation is issued you will be asked to sign the citation. Your signature is not an admission of guilt. It is merely a promise to appear in court on the court date the Officer provides to you. The court date provided is merely a plea date. The purpose of the plea date is to provide the citizen an opportunity to declare their guilt or innocence. Trials are not conducted on this date.
If you choose, you may pay the fine prior to the court date and are generally not required to attend court once the fine is paid; however, in some misdemeanor cases your attendance is required in court whether you pay the fine or not. You may contact the District Court Clerk, 870-777-2525, or the City Bond and Fine Clerk, 870-777-3434 ext 2, to determine if your appearance is compulsory. If you choose not to pay the fine prior to the court date, you must appear in court on the court date. You will have the opportunity to appear before a judge and plead guilty or not guilty to the charge. If you plead not guilty, a trial date will be set. You will have the opportunity to retain a lawyer or you may choose to represent yourself in the case matter. An attorney may be appointed to represent you in certain cases.
If you have any questions regarding court procedures or if special needs arise, you should contact the District Court Clerk at 870-777-2525.
In this event, a warrant would be issued for your arrest. If found guilty of Failure to Appear additional fines and fees would be imposed by the Court.
Arkansas law provides that it is unlawful for any person to operate a motor vehicle within this state unless the person is covered by a certificate of self-insurance or an automobile liability insurance policy. If you are found to be in non-compliance, your license plate may be impounded and a temporary 10-day license sticker will replace it. Your license plate will be forwarded to the Revenue Department. You have 10 days to prove that you possessed an insurance policy, a certificate of self-insurance, or a $65,000 cash deposit with the Department of Revenue covering this vehicle. Proof may be taken to any Revenue Office along with your copy of the Notice of Non-compliance to obtain your license plate. If the vehicle was not insured on the date the notice was issued, the registration will be suspended until proof is obtained and a $20 reinstatement fee is paid to any local Revenue Department.
A.C.A. 27-50-1202 states that an officer of any law enforcement agency may request a towing and storage firm which is licensed by the Arkansas Towing and Recovery Board to engage in non-consent towing of vehicles to:
Remove and store unattended or abandoned vehicles pursuant to this subchapter.
Remove and store any disabled or inoperative vehicle for which the owner or person in charge thereof has waived his or her right to owner preference as defined in this section.
Remove and store any vehicle in which the operator was apprehended by law enforcement officers.
When a car is towed, the owner is liable to pay the towing company fees. Disputes regarding fees and property within vehicles are civil matters between the towing firm and the owner. In the event you do not know the name of the company towing your vehicle you may contact the Hope Police Department Call Center, 870-777-3434 ext 1, to obtain this information.
If you are unable to pay your fine in full, you will need to appear in the District Court on the court date provided to you on your citation. When appearing before the judge, you may plead guilty and establish a payment plan as agreed to by the court. There is a $5 per month fee for being on a payment plan.
If you are stopped by a Police Officer, we simply ask for your cooperation, candor and courtesy in bringing resolution to the contact. Please realize that our Officers are trained to approach situations in a particular manner to ensure the public's as well as their own safety. The procedures utilized may seem abnormal to the general public. Truthfulness is essential. Knowingly providing false information to Law Enforcement personnel may lead to prosecution. While a person who believes that providing information may incriminate them can refuse to provide information under the protection of the 5th amendment, witnesses to crime are not offered this protection.
The District Court is located on the 3rd floor of the Hempstead County Court House at 400 S. Washington Street, Hope, Arkansas, telephone 870-777-2525. Due to a shortage of courtroom space, this court may meet in either of the two existing courtrooms located on that floor. Please make sure you are in the proper courtroom when you appear. Do not hesitate to ask court personnel if you are in the right location.
In this event, you must contact the City Attorney's Office at 870-777-8621 and request to reschedule you court date. This must be requested and approved prior to the scheduled court date.